© 2015 bruceleman

Reflection on Power and Leadership unit

After learning through the power and leadership unit, I learned lots of things. From source analyzing skill to notes taking skill, this unit did improve some of my learning skills. Certainly, I also gather lots of knowledge about power and leadership. What is power (Twitter)? How to identify a leader (Oral presentation)? Why do people want to follow bad leaders (Essay)? Apparently, this unit benefited me a lot

How what I learned connected with what I already knew?

When we started this unit and did the brainstorm, I listed some qualities are required by a good leader, such as responsibility, caring, open-minded, and so on. Then we talked about the way that power presents itself. Although power is invisible, we can still see it in many ways. For example, we can find the power of a soldier while he is fighting on the battlefield, we can see the power of a wild animal when it is trying to protect its kids….

What extended my knowledge?

Although I had some basic knowledge about power and leadership, this unit did extent my knowledge. I knew why people want to follow good leaders, however, while I was doing my research, I changed the way I thought. I tried to find out why people want to follow bad leaders and I found lots of elements that could make people want to follow them. In addition, there was one thing I learnt that benefited me so much—- notes taking skill. And for me, the best way to take notes is using “I” note table. I didn’t know that it is so useful to gather information from many sorts of resources immediately.

What challenged me?

I have to say, throughout this unit, there were many things challenged me. I seldom watch non-fiction book before, even though I took lots of notes while I read it, but when I tried to put the information into my essay, the structure became really messy and scattered, it took me long time to edit it. So, I think it was the biggest challenge to me.

 

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Skip to toolbar